Campus wide

Board of Trustees members honored for service

By CSU Media | November 4, 2019
CSU Board of Trustees members rotate off board
Pictured left to right: Ken Evans, Board of Trustees chair; Dr. Danny Blackwell, Chris Niebuhr, Randy Eller, Dusty Rhodes, Kathy Weiss, and Dr. Dondi Costin, president. Photo by Richard Esposito

Five members of the Board of Trustees, representing 33 years of service, were honored for their dedication at the fall meeting of the Board Oct. 29.

Dr. Danny Blackwell of Kershaw served on the Board from 1966-1970, 1973-1977, 1998 and 2018-2019. He is a life member of the President’s Club and funded an endowed scholarship at CSU. He said, “We don’t appreciate the time God gives us here on earth. Look around and you’ll see God’s stamp on everything.”

Randy Eller of Roanoke, Va., served from 2015-2019. He is also a member of the Executive Council of the Board of Visitors. Eller encouraged the members of the Board to help the school by using their talents to serve.

Chris Niebuhr of the Isle of Palms served from 2015-2019 and is a member of the Leadership Council of the Board of Visitors. He expressed appreciation for Ken Evans, chairman of the Board; Luke Blackmon, vice president of business, and President Dondi Costin for mentoring him.

Thomas “Dusty” Rhodes ’75 of Summerton served from 2015-2019. He is a member of the Presidential Council of the Board of Visitors. “It was a pure joy to serve my alma mater,” said Rhodes.

Kathy Weiss of Lancaster served from 2015-2019. Weiss said, “Of all the monumental changes occurring at CSU during my term, one of the greatest was Dr. Costin.”

Related Stories

Amy Britt Baldwin Baldwin wins national award

Baldwin wins national award

Amy Britt Baldwin ’00 describes seventh grade, especially math, as her worst y...

| READ MORE: Baldwin wins national award
Two-hour delay on Wednesday 

Two-hour delay on Wednesday 

Charleston Southern University will operate on a two-hour delay on Wednesday, Ja...

| READ MORE: Two-hour delay on Wednesday