Academics, Student Life

59th Annual Academic and Student Life Awards

By Jan Joslin | May 10, 2024

Presented April 17, 2024

Congratulations to the individuals and groups honored at the 2023-2024 awards ceremony.

Academic Awards
Aeronautics: Gavin Sheppard
Art: Zoe Ganiszewski
Athletic Training: Meghan DeVaux
Biochemistry: Mary Sox
Biology: Undergraduate, Maryn Brewer; Graduate, Annah Junge
Business: Undergraduate, Kaia Thomson; Graduate, Amy Bryant
Christian Studies: William Morris
Clinical Counseling: Richard Grimball
College of Adult and Professional Studies: Undergraduate, Amanda Proctor; Graduate, Beverly Ratchford
Communication: Delaney Rourke
Computer Science: Undergraduate, Alena Durel; Graduate, Sunyoung Park
Criminal Justice: Undergraduate, Abby Thomas; Graduate, Daniel Callaghan
Education: Undergraduate, Gracey Nolan; Graduate, Christin Clark
English: Kellen Phelps
Graphic Design: Nika Sioson
History: Hunter Mills
Kinesiology: Joanna Wallen
Bryce Hanlon Mathematics Award: Christian Stika
Music: Allison Dunchack
Nursing: Jenna Berger
Political Science: Deymon Fleming
Prelaw: Rachel Rickenbaker
Psychology: Evelyne Gheorghias-Pali
Public Health: Indigo Young
Sociology: Chase Adcock
Spanish: Yvonne Cato
Theatre: David Osborne

Recognition of Achievement
Bridge Program: Sydney Smaltz
Honors Program: Jordan Berger
Veteran Achievement: Tong Chang

Women’s Council Scholarship Recipients
Mattie Leigh Francese Scholarship: Olivia Klein, Meredith Long
Charlene B. Kirk Scholarship: Alessandro Russo, Cory Wester
CSU Women’s Council Endowed Scholarship: Destine Deadwiler, Emily Eicherly, Isabelle Lewis

Special Recognitions:
The Myrtle E. Hamrick Award: Draye Boyd
The John A. Barry Scholar Award: Kaia Thomson
The Hunter Cup: Samantha Carlson
Carolyn Killen Hunter Outstanding Christian Teacher Endowed Scholarship and Award: Emma Stover

Student Life Awards
SGA Executive of the Year: Abigail Barnett
SGA Senator of the Year: Elizabeth England
Luis Orozco Award: Hannah Dawson
Service Organization of the Year: International Club
Greek Organization of the Year: Delta Sigma Theta
Academic Organization of the Year: MIST, Mentors in Science and Technology Club

View the full gallery here!

Related Stories

Students gathers in Java City coffee shop having a bible study. A closer look at Christian higher ed

A closer look at Christian higher ed

“It matters who your son or daughter listens to every day in class, so I think...

| READ MORE: A closer look at Christian higher ed
Students are holding a flag that represents the CSU Color Guard marches in the Homecoming Parade in 2021 Bucs prepare for Homecoming Week

Bucs prepare for Homecoming Week

Homecoming week is right around the corner at CSU and with it comes a plethora o...

| READ MORE: Bucs prepare for Homecoming Week